Davis Index: Market Intelligence for the Global Metals and Recycled Materials Markets

The Indian state of Tamil Nadu has issued an official gazette banning certain industries, including metal smelters, in the Cauvery delta. 


Facilities such as zinc smelters, iron ore processing plants, integrated steel plants, sponge iron plants, copper smelters and aluminium smelters are included on the list.


As per the gazette, the Cauvery delta is an ecologically fragile area and establishment of industries included on the list would adversely affect the environment. 

Areas which fall under the delta include Thanjavur, Thiruvarur, Nagapattinam, Pudukkottai, Ariyalur, Karur and Trichy districts. 

At present, there is no clarity on restrictions on already existing facilities, or projects already in progress, in the delta area.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.